Stages of Dementia

Unsure of what stage you or a loved one falls under?

Want to know what to expect in the future for the progression of the disease?

Here at Dementia Aide we simplify the progression of Dementia's into 4 stages:

Stage 1: Cognitive Impairment -> Stage 2: Early Stages -> Stage 3: Middle Stages -> Stage 4: Late Stages

While each diagnosis and each individual is different (we break each diagnosis down as much as possible in other pages on our site), there are general symptoms or habits experienced as the diseases progress:


The Four Stages of Dementia

For a deeper breakdown of the stages by Diagnosis, visit our diagnosis specific sites:

Alzheimer's Disease (AD)
Fronto-temporal Dementia (FTD)
Lewy Body Dementia (LBD)
Vascular Dementia (VD)

To compare the different Dementia's and their symptoms visit this page

Note: Dementia varies from person to person and exact diagnosis of the disease is extremely difficult. We created this chart as a means to compare the diseases, using references from studies and personal experiences from caretakers caring for loved ones diagnoses with these specific diseases. 
Copyright Notice: All material on this page is protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published, or broadcast without the prior, express written permission of Dementia Aide LLC. You may not alter or remove any copyright or other notice from copies of this content. 
For reprint permission and information, please direct your inquiry to